Galois differential theories and transcendence
Théories de Galois différentielles et transcendance

17 – 21 February, 2025


Scientific Committee
Comité scientifique

Guy Casale (Université de Rennes)
Zoé Chatzidakis (Sorbonne Université)
Charlotte Hardouin (Université de Toulouse)
Federico Pellarin (University Roma Sapienza)
Tanguy Rivoal (Université de Grenoble Alpes)
Thomas Scanlon (Berkeley University)

Organizing Committee
Comité d’organisation

Thomas Dreyfus (Université de Bourgogne)
Marina Poulet (Aix-Marseille Université)
Guillaume Rond (Aix-Marseille Université)
Michael Wibmer (Leeds University)

This conference would be the fourth event in the thematic month. Differential Galois theory aims to understand the relationships satisfied by solutions of linear functional equations. By functional equations, we mean both differential and difference equations.
Thus, this theory is a powerful tool for proving the transcendence of functions arising mainly from combinatorics. This area of study has gained significant interest in the past decade and has brought together a young and active scientific community.
To bridge the gap with Week 3, we have considered offering a course on Differential Galois Theory. To connect with Week 5, three shorter courses are planned that apply differential Galois theory to combinatorics and number theory. These courses would include a session on E-functions and G-functions, a session on Mahler functions, and a session on periods.


Javier Fresan (Sorbonne Université) : E and G-fonctions.
Annette Huber-Klawitter (University of Freiburg): Periods.
Rémi Jaoui (Université de Lyon): Differential Galois Theory.
Boris Adamczewski (Université de Lyon): Mahler Equations.


Jason Bell (University of Waterloo)
Yann Bugeaud (Institut universitaire de France)
Tuan Ngo Dac (CNRS, Université de Caen Normandie)
Matthew De Vilbiss (University of Illinois)
Lucia di Vizio (Université de Versailles-St Quentin)
Stéphane Fischler (Université Paris Saclay)
Leo Jimenez (Ohio State University) To be confirmed
Peter Jossen (King’s College London)
Khoa Dang Nguyen (University of Calgary)
Ronnie Nagloo (University of Illinois)
Marina Poulet  (Aix-Marseille Université)
Julien Roques (Université de Lyon 1)
Masha Vlasenko (Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences) To be confirmed