GAGTA Geometric and Asymptotic Group Theory with Applications
Théorie des Groupes Géométrique et Asymptotique

5 – 9 February, 2024

Scientific Committee 
Comité scientifique 

Indira Chatterji (Université Côte d’Azur)
Victor Chepoi (Aix-Marseille Université)
Laura Ciobanu Radomirovic (Heriot-Watt University)
Markus Lohrey (University of Siegen)
Hamish Short (Aix-Marseille Université)
Tatiana Smirnova-Nagnibeda (Université de Genève)

Organizing Committee
Comité d’organisation

Jérémie Chalopin (CNRS, Aix-Marseille Université)
Victor Chepoi (Aix-Marseille Université)
Thierry Coulbois (Aix-Marseille Université)
Anthony Genevois (CNRS, Université de Montpellier)
Jingyin Huang (Ohio State University)
Etienne Moutot (CNRS, Aix-Marseille Université)
Pascal Weil (CNRS, Université de Bordeaux)

GAGTA conferences form an annual series of conferences devoted to the dialogue between different approaches on infinite groups: Geometry, combinatorics, decidability, logic and algorithms. These conferences gather every year a group of involved specialists and focus on giving good opportunities to young researchers. They both contribute to long term research thematics and explore new trends. Growth of groups, metric properties as initiated by M. Gromov, computation, algorithms and logic in infinite groups are the main lines of theses conferences. Cubic groups, contracting elements in almost hyperbolic groups, random walks on groups, dynamical systems, various aspects of normal forms in specific groups, automata groups and self-similar groups are some of the current hot topics. All in all, these conferences are a meeting point between algebra, geometry and computer science. In this venue of GAGTA, we will also emphasize the strong links with symbolic dynamics as well as the strengths of Sage software for computing in group theory. A GAGTA conference already took place at CIRM in September 2015. More information about GAGTA can be found on the website:


Nathalie Aubrun (CNRS, Université Paris-Saclay) Domino snake problems on groups
Laurent Bartholdi (Saarland University)  Automatic actions
Montserrat Casals-Ruiz (University of the Basque Country) Algorithmic problems for (subgroups of) right-angled Artin groups
Tullio Ceccherini-Silberstein (University of Sannio) First-order model theory, surjunctive groups, and Kaplansky’s stable finiteness conjecture
Laura Ciobanu Radomirovic (Heriot-Watt University) Group equations, constraints and decidability
Joel Day (Loughborough University) Solving equations in a free monoid: a modern perspective
Valentina Disarlo (Heidelberg University) Group equations, constraints and decidability
Murray Elder (University of Technology Sydney) When is a Cayley graph geodetic?
Alejandra Garrido (Complutense University of Madrid) On the congruence subgroup problem for certain self-similar groups
Nima Hoda (Cornell University) Tree of graph boundaries of hyperbolic groups
Kolja Knauer (University of Barcelona) Complexes of Oriented Matroids
Marco Linton (University of Oxford) The coherence of one-relator groups
Piotr Przytycki (McGill University) Coxeter groups are biautomatic
Sarah Rees (Newcastle University) The word and co-word problems, as formal languages
Ville Salo (University of Turku) Self-simulable groups
Dmytro Savchuk (University of South Florida) Liftable self-similar groups and scale groups
Sam Shepherd (Vanderbilt University) One-ended halfspaces in group splittings
Mireille Soergel (Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences) Dyer groups: Coxeter groups, right-angled Artin groups and more
Emily Stark (Wesleyan University) Conformal dimension for certain Bowditch boundaries




Byunghee An (Kyungpook National University) Quasi-isometry classification of graph 2-braid groups (A1)
Chimere Stanley Anabanti (University of Pretoria) A new kind of polynomials for finite groups (A2)
Alex Bishop (Université de Genève) On the conjugacy depth Function for Grigorchuk’s group (A1)
Corentin Bodart (Université de Genève) Membership problems in nilpotent groups (A2)
Christopher Cabezas (Université de Liège) Mutldimensional substitutions: Large normalizer of odometers and realization on Toeplitz subshifts (A2)
Alonso Castillo-ramirez (University of Guadalajara) A generalization of cellular automata over groups (A1)
Gemma Crowe (Heriot-Watt University) Twisted conjugacy in dihedral Artin groups (A1)
Alex Evetts (The University of Manchester) Rational growth in virtually abelian groups (A1)
Jorge Fariña-asategui (Lund University) Sofic entropy and fractal dimensions on free monoid actions (A2)
Samuel Fisher (University of Oxford) Kaplansky’s Zero Divisor Conjecture for 3-manifold groups (A2)
Anthony Genevois (CNRS Université de Montpellier) Lamplighter-like geometry of groups (A1)
Jaime Gomez (Pontifical Catholic University of Chile) Invariant measures for Toeplitz subshifts on non-amenable residually finite groups (A2)
Megan Howarth (Université de Genève) Cone types of hyperbolic triangle groups and their application to random walks (A1)
Letizia Issini (Université de Genève) Divergence of wreath products and Houghton groups (A1)
Chris Karpinski (McGill University) A weak Tits alternative for uniform lattices in isometry groups of buildings (A1)
Steffen Kionke (University of Hagen) Hereditarily just-infinite groups with positive first L^2-Betti number (A2)
Maarten Lathouwers ( Catholic University of Leuven) Twisted conjugacy growth in virtually abelian groups (A2)
Alex Levine (University of Manchester) Recognisably context-free subsets of groups. (A2)
Richard Mandel (Max Planck Institute for Software Systems) The quadratic Diophantine problem in Baumslag-Solitar groups (A1)
Alexis Marchand (University of Cambridge) Stable commutator length, surfaces, and rationality (A1)
Caroline Mattes (University of Stuttgart) The word and conjugacy problem in general Baumslag groups (A2)
Zachary Munro (University of McGill) Random Groups are not n-Cubulated (A2)
Patrick Nairne ( University of Oxford) Embeddings of groups into products of binary trees (A1)
Leon Pernak (Saarland University) EDT0L presentations of groups (A1)
David Soukup (University of California) Cogrowth in Nilpotent Groups and Undecidability (A1)
Matteo Tarocchi (University of Milano-Bicocca) Thompson-like groups acting on fractals (A1)
Lior Tenenbaum (University of Potsdam) Periodic approximation of substitution subshifts (A1)
Alexander Ushakov (Stevens Institute of Technology) Linear time algorithm for the conjugacy problem in the Grigorchuk group Gamma (A1)
Motiejus Valiunas (University of Wrocław) Trace monoids and RAAGs in one-relator groups (A2)
Vladimir Vankov (University of Bristol) L-infinity cohomology of groups (A1)
Nicolas Vaskou ( University of Bristol) Quasi-isometric rigidity of Artin groups (A1)
Jan Philipp Wächter (Politechnic University of Milan) Recent developments on decision problems for automaton groups and semigroups (A2)
Richard Weidmann (Kiel University) Subgroups of locally quasiconvex relatively hyperbolic groups (A1)
Stefanie Zbinden (Heriot-Watt University) From strong contraction to hyperbolicity (A1)