Mathematical aspects of the physics with non-self-adjoint operators
Les aspects mathématiques de la physique avec les opérateurs non-auto-adjoints

3 – 7  June, 2024


Scientific Committee 
Comité scientifique 

Tanya Christiansen (University of Missouri)
Fritz Gesztesy (Baylor University)
Alain Joye (Université Grenoble Alpes)
Béatrice Pelloni (Heriot-Watt University)

Organizing Committee
Comité d’organisation

Lyonell Boulton (Heriot-Watt University)
Lucrezia Cossetti (Karlsruhe Institue of Technology)
David Krejcirik (Czech Tehnical University in Prague)
Petr Siegl (Graz University of Technology)

IMPORTANT WARNING:  Scam / Phishing / SMiShing ! Note that ill-intentioned people may be trying to contact some of participants by email or phone to get money and personal details, by pretending to be part of the staff of our conference center (CIRM).  CIRM and the organizers will NEVER contact you by phone on this issue and will NEVER ask you to pay for accommodation/ board / possible registration fee in advance. Any due payment will be taken onsite at CIRM during your stay.

The conference is intended as a follow-up of a highly successful series of meetings organised in various places in Europe and North America during the last dozen years, including two CIRM conferences in 2017 and 2021. The goal is to facilitate interdisciplinary collaborations across the mathematical analysis and mathematical physics communities, with a central role being played by the theory of non-self adjoint operators. From the point of view of applications, modern physical subjects, such as advanced structures in condensed matter physics and optics, unconventional representations of observables in quantum mechanics, and non-linear phenomena in hydrodynamics are covered. High impact mid-term aspirations include the development of rigorous tools allowing understanding of complicated physical phenomena including cloaking, turbulence and explosive behaviour. On the mathematical side, invited participants are experts in mathematical physics, microlocal, semiclassical, functional and harmonic analysis, as well as dynamical systems and partial differential equations.

La conférence est conçue comme prochaine édition d’une série de réunions très réussies organisées en divers lieux d’Europe et d’Amérique du Nord au cours des douze dernières années, dont deux conférences CIRM en 2017 et 2021. L’objectif est de faciliter les collaborations interdisciplinaires entre les communautés de l’analyse mathématique et de la physique mathématique, autour du rôle central joué par la théorie des opérateurs non-auto-adjoints. Du point de vue des applications, les sujets de physiques modernes, tels que les structures avancées en physique de la matière condensée et en optique, les représentations non conventionnelles des observables en mécanique quantique, et les phénomènes non linéaires en hydrodynamique sont couverts. Les aspirations à moyen terme et fort impact comprennent le développement d’outils rigoureux permettant la compréhension de phénomènes physiques complexes tels le camouflage, la turbulence et le comportement explosif. Du côté mathématique, les participants invités sont des experts en physique mathématique, en analyse microlocale, semi-classique, fonctionnelle et harmonique, ainsi qu’en systèmes dynamiques et en équations aux dérivées partielles.


Karine Beauchard (ENS Rennes)
Jussi Behrndt (Graz University of Technology)
Anne-Sophie Bonnet-BenDhia (CNRS, ENSTA Paris)
Cristina Câmara (University of Lisbon)
Isabelle Chalendar (Université Gustave Eiffel)
Kirill Cherednichenko (University of Bath)
Horia Cornean (Aalborg University)
Jean-Claude Cuenin (Loughborough University)
Jérémy Faupin (Université de Lorraine)
Rupert Frank (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich)
Marcel Hansmann (Chemnitz University of Technology)
Michael Hitrik (University of California, Los Angeles)
Birgit Jacob (University of Wuppertal)
Maryna Kachanovska (INRIA Saclay)
Cécilia Lancien (CNRS, Université Grenoble Alpes)
Giorgio Metafune (University of Salento)
Sandra Pott (Lund University)
Johannes Sjöstrand (Université de Bourgogne)
Birgit Schörkhuber (University of Innsbruck)
Christiane Tretter (University of Bern)